Which Greek God Would You Be Based On Your Zodiac Sign?

The Greek gods dwelt on top of Mount Olympus, the highest in Greece. They were considered Olympic gods and the main ones of the pantheon. While there were 14 recognized Olympian gods, there were never more than 12 at one time.

Here we tell you which Greek god corresponds to each zodiac sign, and how you can interpret it for your personal growth.

Aries: Ares

Ares is considered the Olympian god of war and personifies brute force and violence. He was never influenced by belonging to a faction but sometimes helped some and sometimes others. His wild and bloodthirsty character made him hated by other gods, including his own parents, Zeus and Hera.

Taurus: Hera

Hera is the goddess of marriage, Queen of the gods and protector of women. She was the daughter of Rhea and Cronos and she was swallowed at birth by Cronos due to a prophecy that one of her children would take the throne from her. She was vindictive and jealous, although she is depicted as majestic and solemn, sitting on the throne.

Gemini: Hermes

This Greek god was considered the messenger of the gods. He marked the routes that travelers were to follow and his symbols include the rooster, the tortoise and his golden winged sandals. He was the son of Zeus and Maia.

Cancer: Artemis

He is one of the most revered deities. She is the daughter of Zeus and Leto and considered the Hellenic goddess of the hunt, wild animals, virgin land, childbirth, virginity, and maidens. She also relieved women’s diseases. During her childhood she sought to become a hunter and that is how she acquired the bow and arrow from her.

Leo: Helios

Helios is the personification of the sun and brother of the goddesses Selene, the moon, and Eos, the dawn. He was imagined as a beautiful god crowned with the brilliant halo of the sun that each day brought light to the world in his chariot pulled by four horses, traversing the sky from east to west. At night he would return to his home in the East sailing aboard a vessel across the ocean.

Virgo: Athena

Athena is the goddess of civilization, war, wisdom, strength, strategy, and justice. She is also the goddess of heroic effort and the Virgin patron goddess of Athens. The Athenians built the Parthenon on the acropolis of the city of the same name, Athens, in her honor.

Libra: Aphrodite

Aphrodite was the goddess of love, beauty, and sexuality. It was because of her beauty that the other gods feared that jealousy would arise that would disrupt the peace between them and lead them to war. That is why Zeus married her to Hephaestus, whom the rest of the gods did not see as a threat.

Scorpio: Hades

Hades became the God of the Underworld. The deepest part of the underworld is Tartarus, a place of suffering and pain and the battleground of the Great War. Unlike most gods, Hades interfered for mortals. The symbols associated with him are the helm of darkness and the three-headed dog, Cerberus.

Sagittarius: Zeus

Zeus was the King of the Gods, ruler of Mount Olympus, and God of the sky and lightning. His symbols were the Thunderbolt, the Eagle, the Bull, the Serpent, and the Oak. Despite being the youngest of the brothers he was the strongest of them. He married his sister Hera, goddess of women, and his erotic adventures with beautiful mortal women were known, giving rise to a large number of descendants, such as Athena, Apollo, Artemis, Hermes, Persephone, Dionysus, Perseus, Heracles, Helena and Minus. With Hera, Zeus was the father of Ares, Hebe, Eris and Hephaestus.

Capricorn: Chronos

Cronos was the leader and also the youngest of the first generation of titans. The Sisters of Fate anticipated that he would be surpassed by his own son, as he had overthrown his father. As a result, after having fathered Demeter, Hera, Hades, Hestia, and Poseidon by Rhea, he swallowed them all as soon as they were born to prevent the prophecy from coming true. The sixth and final child, Zeus, was the son destined to overthrow Cronus and defeat the Titans.

Aquarius: Uranus

Uranus was the primordial god of the sky, son and husband of Gaia, the Earth mother. He went out every night to cover the earth mating with Gaia, but he hated the children she had given birth to. His first sons were the three Hecatonchires and the three giant Cyclopes. Uranus imprisoned Gaia’s children in Tartarus, the deepest place in Hades, causing Gaia great pain. So she devised a plan to avenge the outrage: she carved a flint sickle and asked her children for help. Only Cronus, the youngest of them, was willing to fulfill her obligation, ambushed his father, and castrated him with the sickle, throwing his genitals into the sea. Before dying, Uranus predicted that the Titans would receive a just punishment for his crime, anticipating Zeus’ victory over Cronos.

Pisces: Poseidon

Poseidon is the god of the sea, storms and, as the shaker of the earth, of earthquakes. When he got angry or ignored, he would cleave the ground with his trident and cause chaotic springs, earthquakes, sinkholes and shipwrecks. In Greek art, Poseidon is portrayed in a chariot pulled by a Hippocampus or by horses that could ride over the sea. He was the son of the Titans Cronus and Rhea, and in some versions of Greek myth he was one of the children who was swallowed by Cronus and later rescued, along with his other siblings, by Zeus. In other versions Poseidon, like his brother Zeus, avoided the fate of his other brothers by being saved by his mother, who hid him in a flock of lambs.

Do you feel identified with the god that represents your sign? What are the qualities that most represent you?