Septenios: how your life changes every 7 years and what stage are you in today

Throughout life, we go through different stages, and in each of them we feel that we are going through very different things or, at least, we perceive them that way. In fact, would you recognize yourself today acting the way you did years ago? Possibly not, and neither will you in the future.

From anthroposophy – a worldview based on the philosophy of Rudolf Steiner – they understand this as a cycle. Personal development is divided into seven-year periods, about which you may have already heard. These are seven-year cycles that mark the evolution of each person throughout their lives.

Steiner established the septenios as the biographical study of people every seven years. He postulated that development includes physical, mental and spiritual maturation.

What is yours right now? Meet him here.

Up to 7 years

In this cycle, what predominates is discovery, experimentation.

In this seven-year period, the child’s psychomotor development takes place, the beginning of his walk as a manifestation of individuality. The nervous system is the one that has more prominence, since it encompasses the development of perceptual, movement and balance skills.

In short: there is a transformation both inside and outside. The loss of baby teeth is a sign of this transition.

From 7 to 14 and from 14 to 21 years old

In the first cycle of these two, the temperament begins to form, which can be choleric (fire), sanguine (air), melancholic (earth), or phlegmatic (water). Each temperament has its own behavioral traits. In addition, at this time the adoption of habits and, on the emotional plane, feelings are developed.

From 14 to 21 puberty occurs, sexual awakening, and there is a development on the social level, of friendships.

From 21 to 28 years old

In this cycle, sensitivity, self-affirmation and self-control are developed. It is a seven-year period of experimentation. In addition, the feeling of taking charge of oneself is experienced, as a push towards adulthood. Questions begin regarding how the world is lived and how we want to live in it.

From 28 to 42

Up to the age of 35, we place ourselves in the exact place where we do what we came to do in this life, with the people with whom we have to do it (karmic place). A nostalgia for the unlived can be experienced, and an openness towards spirituality. They say that it was at the age of 35 that the Buddha attained enlightenment.

From 35 to 42, questions about what we have to do in life are common. We begin to assume what we are and what happens. We become more genuine.

after 42

From this age the so-called “spiritual septenios” develop. There is a turning inward, paths of personal growth, creativity and wisdom are opened; we feel more mature and developed.

For example, the Japanese painter Hokusai said that his true art began to flourish after the age of 63.

It is a fundamentally spiritual stage of development. Higher notions are developed to bond that have to do with love but on a broader and superior level.

Remember that in today’s societies the cycles can change the rhythms, since now youth is accelerated and longevity is extended.

And you, what cycle are you going through?


body mind

emotional memory